Stay current with news and commentary relevant to healthcare, medical education, public health, and biomedical research. This page provides access to major newspapers, medical news outlets, and databases with news coverage from around the world.
HMSOM Library subscribes to electronic newspapers through academic databases, so while the article content is the same, the interface is different than you may be used to seeing on the newspaper website. Also, sometimes current content is embargoed for a week to 90 days.
Whether you're looking for breaking news, op-eds, or archival coverage, these resources can support your clinical learning, policy research, and understanding of the broader healthcare landscape.
Boston Globe – Access here
Chicago Tribune – Access here
New York Times – Access here
Wall Street Journal – Access here
Washington Post – Access here
ProQuest Central - ProQuest Central provides access to databases across all major subject areas, including business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion. The collection includes thousands of full-text scholarly journals, trade and professional titles, newspapers, magazines, dissertations, working papers, case studies, and market reports all together on a powerful, user-friendly platform
ProQuest International Newsstream –International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format.
MedlinePlus – Curated headlines from trusted health organizations.
Newspaper Source Plus - Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines.
Have questions or need help finding a specific article? Contact a librarian – we’re here to help!
🏥Health News:
A bimonthly, peer-reviewed publication that covers health policy and managed care. It's considered one of the most respected health policy journals.
The latest news in clinical medicine, biomedical research, public health, and health policy
Kaiser Health News (KFF Health News) is a nonprofit, editorially independent newsroom that provides in-depth reporting on health policy, healthcare access, and public health issues in the U.S.
A free website and app that provides medical information for healthcare professionals and physicians. Requires a one-time account. Set up daily email alerts.
Free online magazine STAT produced by Boston Globe Media. Free and premium versions. Science, health, and biotech journalists cover health, medicine, and scientific discovery.
